Press Track Events Points Rules media.html Gear Sponsors Contact
.: August 10, 2019 :.

'Rambo' extends Clash record with Fayetteville victory

Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, South Carolina, captured his 44th win in Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series competition Saturday night, edging local driver Chris Blackwell of Gray's Creek at Fayetteville Motor Speedway. (JB Hotshots photo)

Franklin led all 40 laps of Saturday's headline event, but barely held off Blackwell at the checkered by 0.17 of a second. It was the ninth time Franklin has visited Victory Lane at FMS in Clash competition, and he earned $4,000 for the win.  The series champion in 2010-11 and 2013, Franklin is also a three-time runner-up in the Clash points, 

Johnny Pursley of Clover, South Carolina, won the pole position with a lap of 16.139 seconds, but Franklin grabbed the lead on the opening circuit to score his first Clash victory in 14 months. Pursley would come home third.

Brett Hamm of Newberry, South Carolina, won the Clash's first visit to Fayetteville season back on March 30. He finished fourth Saturday night, and a 10th-place outing for Jeff Smith of Dallas allowed Hamm to extend his series points lead to 52 with nine races left on the Clash schedule.

Fifteen of the 17 starters completed all 40 laps. Carolina Clash racing returns to Fayetteville Motor Speedway for the 70th time Sept. 28. 

Other winners Saturday night included: Christian Thomas, who captured Diet Mountain Dew Modified after starting third; Jerry Johnson Jr., who won from the pole in Stingerz; Ron Pope, Sportsman; Case Daniels, who powered from the fourth starting position to claim Renegades, and Eddie Daniels, Legends.

Fayetteville's next race will be Aug. 23-24, headlined by a $5,000-to-win Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association show.



1. Dennis Franklin, 2. Chris Blackwell, 3. Johnny Pursley, 4. Brett Hamm, 5. Ben Watkins, 6. Kyle Hardy, 7. Willie Milliken, 8. Ryan Gifford, 9. Anthony Yarborough, 10. Jeff Smith, 11. Anthony Sanders, 12. Shaun Sewell, 13. Daulton Wilson, 14. Corey Gordon, 15. David Yandle, 16. Larry Grube, 17. Dale Arnold

1. Christian Thomas, 2. Robbie Turner, 3. David Taylor, 4. Daniel Parker, 5. AJ Belanger, 6. Jake Gibbons, 7. Gracie Trotter, 8. Brayton Haws, 9. Eddie Bullard, 10. Mark Price, 11. Wayne Gray Jr., 12. Mack Coxe, 13. John Marshall

1. Jerry Johnson Jr., 2. Kyle Jenks, 3. Shannon Weaver, 4. Tonya Jordan, 5. Daniel Stephenson, 6. Brian Mercer

1. Ron Pope, 2. Benji Thompson, 3. Michael Freeman, 4. David Royal, 5. Jonathan Hardee, 6. Tony Bunnell, 7. Aaron Ellis, 8. Brandon Marshall, 9. Jamie Barnes

1. Case Daniels, 2. Daniel Johnson, 3. Rick Razillard, 4. Tom Lovett, 5. Brandon Carter, 6. Landon Polinski, 7. Martin Sweatt, 8. Ricky Bledsoe, 9. John Dyson, 10. Steve Loon, 11. Kevin Raynor, 12. Layton Bartley

1. Eddie Daniels, 2. Tyler Kussman, 3. Ryan Shabram, 4. Tim Neighbors, 5. Tristen Stephenson, 6. Scott Neighbors, 7. Joseph Sanoske, 8. Joe Adam, 9. Ronnie Long, 10. Daniel Adam, 11. Thomas Williams, 12. Billy Gomez